By W H Bartlett
London   George Virtue
11" by 8.5" iv, [2], 2-170;
A beautifully illustrated two volumes on Ireland by noted artist W H Bartlett. The first edition of this work, which is one of a wider series of engraved works.
By W H Bartlett

1841 The Scenery and Antiquities of Ireland

London   George Virtue
11" by 8.5" iv, [2], 2-170;
A beautifully illustrated two volumes on Ireland by noted artist W H Bartlett. The first edition of this work, which is one of a wider series of engraved works.
£1,100.00
: 3kgs / : 725L26

What Our Customers Say...

Description

First Edition, Illustrated

The first edition of this work. 

Undated, dated using Library Hub. 

Plate 'Bray' from volume II is bound in volume I.  Volume II has an additional plate 'Monument of General Ross'. The plate 'Old Weir Bridge' is bound at page 126 of volume II rather than page 26. 

Rebacked, with contemporary cloth boards preserved. The boards to this work are beautifully tooled with a peacock design.

Collated, complete. 

The plates to this volume are from illustrations by W H Bartlett. William Henry Bartlett was a British artist best known for his numerous steel engravings.

Accompanying the plates is a comprehensive historical and descriptive text by J Stirling Coyne and N P Willis. Nathaniel Parker Willis was an American author, poet and editor who worked with several notable American writers. Joseph Stirling Coyne was a humorist and satirist in the tradition of Jonathan Swift and Alexander Pope. He worked as a journalist, contributing many humorous pieces to many widely circulated journals and newspapers.

Condition

In a quarter calf binding with blind tooled cloth boards. Rebacked, with contemporary boards preserved. Externally, very smart with patches of light rubbing to the boards. Internally, firmly bound. Pages are generally bright. Scattered spots to pages, heavier to the plates.

Very Good

Delivery & payment

We send all of our books via courier which is a fully tracked and insured service. In our experience we find this to be the most reliable and quickest form of delivery. Our primary courier is DHL, but we are able to accommodate special requests if required, including postal delivery for items under 2kg. See More Details